Maxi Dress for Petites

You know there is always one trend that you would love to try out so much, and it looks so good on your friend, but you just couldn’t seem to find the right way to work it into your wardrobe?

For me it’s maxi dress.

(If you are looking for petite dresses, check out my tips on finding the right dresses for petites)

Not only it is hard to find something that fit my petite heights, it is also rare to find something that doesn’t make me look like a 12 year old playing with her momma’s dress.

But after a long search, plus wasting my money on 2 dresses that I’m not going to wear anytime soon, (not outside in public at least), I finally found one.

petites maxi dress

 

 

Okay, so the length is not quite maxi yet, it’s more like a midi on me, but that’s ok, because I feel like it gave me enough length while allowing my lethe right maxi dress for petitesgs to kinda peaking through.

And while happily surprised that it works well for me, I still pondered on why it did and other ones didn’t. So here are my thoughts, perhaps it might help you find the maxi for you!

 

Petites maxi dress

1. It’s more form fitting: The other dresses that I bought, one was chiffon and another has this belt in the middle and baggy cut on top. While the chiffon one is super pretty and flowy, its pleat added bulk and made me feels chubby. The baggy one is sooo unbelievably comfy, it has this grandma look. With this stripe, cotton dress, it fits better on my body and balance out the length.

 

2. Tank top and a slit: Since maxi dresses cover you up from shoulders to toes, I think they would need some sexy hints to make you feel pretty:) Here I love the slit on the side and the tank top.

 

3. It’s versatile: Because of the neutral, black and white stripes, it is very easy to mix it up the style. I like to wear a t-shirt or a button up shirt over it. Sorry it just happens that I wore white top for both photos above, but I did wear it with purple, blue, and other colors too! Just love when I found something that goes great with so many other pieces in my wardrobe!

 

So is there any trend you want to try so bad but haven’t found the right piece or the right way to wear it?

P.s. Have you seen my new Facebook page? 😉

11 comments

  1. hahah i so agree with you about looking as though we’ve been wearing out mum’s clothes ;p that dress suits you so well! never thought of the slit actually 🙂 I must try to find one like this somewhere ;p x
    | Life as a Petite |

  2. That is such a good find!! I never thought to look for midi dresses. Love the stripes and the slit on the side.

    On another note, I’m so happy that there’s another petite lady that I can interact with in the blogging world. So I’m nominating you for the Very Inspiring Blogger award! Thank you for sharing all your petite tips and fashion. I can’t wait to see more!!
    http://petitelabrat.wordpress.com/2014/05/21/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    1. Thanks so much Justine for nominating me! It really meant a lot to me as a new blogger! I’m working on my nomination post right now:)

  3. Merrie K. · · Reply

    Great post idea….I’ve actually been working on polyvore sets for the same thing. 🙂 I love your tips…getting a form fitting dress is definitely a great point! love the stripe dress too!

    1. Thanks Merrie! Can’t wait to see your take on maxi dresses!

  4. Johnk506 · · Reply

    I just ought to tell you which you have written an exceptional and distinctive post that I really enjoyed reading. Im fascinated by how nicely you laid out your material and presented your views. Thank you. abeefgffeeck

    1. Thank you Johnk506! Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Glad you liked it:) and thanks for stopping by!

  5. Very nice post!
    I’m a petite myself, but I like long skirts in the summer. I need to do some shopping now :))

    Lu | http://www.balgarka.co.uk

    1. Nice to meet you Lu:) Always great to hear from a fellow petite lady!

Leave a Reply

