My almost-harem pants

I love summer styles, as I probably said on my blog already. It’s just that summer is usually more fun for me, with all the traveling and vacationing packed into a few months.

Summer fashion is just as fun, everything is fun and fresh, with popping colors, bold prints, and all sort of light fabric. One of the trend I like is this pair of pants.

Alibaba pants1

Harem pants

I’m not sure if it qualifies as harem pants, because the harem pants I saw always get really baggy around the hips, and a less than flattering crotch that drops close to your knees! Always a little self conscious about my hips, it’s not the trend that I would just get so excited about. Thankfully my pants are just loose from hips to ankle.

Although I have to admit that this is not a very chic style, it surely is very comfortable and practical in some situation. We were visiting this mountain town, with a trip down to a water fall, then climb all the way back up to an old church on the top of the hills. The amount of climbing makes it very uncomfortable and awkward for dress wearers. But then the temperature at noon is like over 100 degrees in the boiling sun.

ali pants2

Comfortable, light pants

So these alibaba pants, as I called them, were the life saver! I can move around freely in them without any embarrassing incidents, but they are loose and light enough to feel comfortable. Plus, if you travel in Asia, you will soon find out that often shorts and short skirts/dresses are not allowed in church, temples, and other religious entities. And that’s why, these pants become a staple item in my travel bag.

Alipants4

Love the tribal print that goes well with little purse

The only thing I love is the very tribal/exotic print of the pants. And that I get to wear my little purse with it.

This, my ladies, is the most vivid example when practicality wins over style.

Oh and fedora hat is also my favorite summer item, this may or may not have anything to do with my obsession with Bruno Mars.

ali pants 3

Fedora hat + sunglasses = a complete summer outfit

Have you had an item when at first you hated the idea, but then wear it anyway and found out a good side to it?

10 comments

  1. Love these pants!!!! I picked up a few when I was in India a few years ago…they are exactly as you described – called Ali Baba pants when I got them. You’ve inspired me to do a post about them too. Xo

    1. ohh please do! I would love to see how you style them. To be honest I’m a bit at lost here, just loving them for being comfy that’s all

      1. Thinking cap on……stay tuned friend! xo

      2. Van…church out the way I styled & rocked my harem pants in a recent post called: Vintage-Gypsy-Cabaret 😉

      3. Oh glad you finally get around to do that:) coming over right now to check it out!

  2. layeredindulgence · · Reply

    I love these pants, they’re great! My sister has a similar pair with an elephant print that I want to feature on my blog soon! They’re so comfy and stylish! Check out my blog if you’d like 🙂 http://layeredindulgence.wordpress.com

    1. Oh I look forward to see your post! will check out your blog soon!

  3. Merrie K. · · Reply

    Beautiful church…where is it? I like the “almost harem pants”….they look like the perfect outfit for touring 🙂

  4. love the pants, beautiful photos. xx
    http://www.littleprettymess.com
    Instagram @littleprettymess
    https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/7279767

    1. Thank you Tania!

Leave a Reply

